Full Day Event Report

The 4th eNGO Challenge South Asia Awards 2015 – No profit, High Impact

The 4th edition of the eNGO Challenge Awards was successfully hosted at Indian Habitat Centre in New Delhi on October 9, 2015.

Every year, the eNGO Challenge Awards recognise and accolade best practices in ICT by NGOs. This year’s theme for the day-long event, which included interactive session, was ‘No Profit, High Impact’, and Digital Empowerment Foundation (DEF) received a total of 225 nominations, out of which 67 were shortlisted and 15 were declared winners across six categories.

Mr. Osama Manzar, Founder & Director of DEF, welcomed the esteemed panelists and representatives from more than 700 non-government organisations (NGOs) and, especially, congratulated all participants who had travelled miles from Pakistan, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Maldives and Sri Lanka to attend the conclave and bridge the digital divide.

The inaugural panel comprised of Ministry of Rural Development’s Additional Secretary Mr. Amarjeet Sinha, Founder of Goonj Organisation and Ramon Magsaysway Award winner of 2015 Mr. Anshu Gupta, Public Interest Registry Board Member Mr. Amitabh Singhal and Capgemini CSR Leader Mr. Kumar Anurag Pratap.

The 4th eNGO Challenge South Asia 2015 Awards book titled ‘No Profit, High Impact’ was released by the panel, followed by the unveiling of the .NGO domain which was launched worldwide early this year.

The inaugural session was followed by a CSR Panel to focus on the ‘why’, ‘how’ and ‘what’ of strategising, planning, executing and monitoring the CSR activities of companies.

The panel comprised of Jindal Stainless Ltd Corporate Head (CSR) Mr. Rajiv Williams; Director-Programme of DLF Foundation Mr. P.K. Joseph; Vice President (CSR) of IFFCO TOKIO General Insurance Co. Ltd. Mr. Ramesh Kumar Sahijwani; Head of Corporate Responsibility at BP Exploration Ltd. Mr. Jyotsna Bhatnagar; Director of Business & Community Foundation Ms. Amita Joseph; Vice President & Head of Media, Corporate Communications, CSR and Spokesperson of Samsung (South West Asia) Mr. Rajiv Mishra; AGM (CSR) NTPC Ltd. Mr. Ashok Chakravorty; Chief Operating Officer of Swades Foundation Mr. Praveen Aggarwal; Head of Digital Enterprise Services Delivery (Enterprise Division) at Tech Mahindra Mr. Gaurav Nayyar; and Former Secretary IT in the government of Sikkim Mr. Rajesh Verma. The panel discussion was moderated by Ms. Gayatri Subramaniam, Convener & Chief Programme Executive, NFCSR, Indian Institute of Corporate Affairs.

The CSR Panel discussion was followed by three parallel sessions on Social Media and Social Commerce; Internet Tools & Digital Content; and Media & Apps. 67 Finalists presented their organisations’ work, mission, vision and best practices.

For the first time, eNGO Digital Mela was setup to display the work of the NGOs who have joined the .NGO fraternity. Each NGOs online presence, websites and footsteps towards Digital Inclusion were showcased at the Pavilion.

The much awaited awards were given away at the Awards Gala. The Awards Gala begun with a magic show by Ishamuddin Khan from the Katputhli Colony. 15 winners, 5 special mentions, 4 juror mentions and 6 Chairman’s mentions were accolade for their work across six categories. With this an eventful day came to an end.

An Initiative of

Strategic Partner

Institutional Partner

Event Partner

Outreach Partner